Recognizing our very best.


Every year, the members of the Thunderbird Marching Band vote on several awards to give at our annual banquet in April. Here is a list of the awards and their previous winners.

Section of the Year

The Section of the Year award is given annually to the TMB section that demonstrates the utmost levels of commitment, dedication, musicality, and spirit to the band.

  • 2017-18: Percussion
  • 2016-17: Percussion & Saxophones
  • 2015-16: Percussion
  • 2014-15: Percussion
  • 2013-14: Trumpets
  • 2012-13: Percussion

Harold King Award

The Harold King Award, named after author of “The U.B.C. March” Harold King, is given annually to a TMB member who demonstrates excellent levels of commitment, dedication, and spirit in their service to the band. A member may only receive this award once.

  • 2017-18: Nicolas Moss
  • 2016-17: Andy Ferguson
  • 2015-16: Fred Cholowski
  • 2014-15: Vivienne Zhang
  • 2013-14: Nhi Dang
  • 2012-13: Max Bogard

Rookie of the Year

The Rookie of the Year award is given to the first-year band member who exhibits exemplary musical talent and dedication in their service to the band.

  • 2017-18: Albert Shoshany-Glosser
  • 2016-17: Nadia Kovari
  • 2015-16: JJ Hum
  • 2014-15: Jonathan Zhang